Boise April 8th, 2008 - Boise Police, again with the assistance of the Alcohol Beverage Control unit from Idaho State Police, cited 9 local businesses for selling alcohol to minors in Boise. Over the weekend a wide variety of establishments from restaurants and bars to liquor stores and gas stations received citations in this operation across the city.
Two individuals where also cited for allowing minors to loiter in a bar. One establishment was also cited for an over-service violation.
This enforcement is aimed at ensuring public safety through educating citizens to the dangers of underage drinking, the penalties for encouraging or allowing underage drinking, and by trying to curb the number of teen and underage drinkers in our community. Boise Police are hopeful these actions and ongoing education can help potentially save the lives of young people in our community.
The following penalties are a general reference, and not meant to point to a specific case. Business penalties are administered by the Idaho State Police.
Penalties of providing alcohol to underage youth:
- A person who sells or furnishes alcohol to an underage youth will face fines between $500 and $1,000 plus up to one year in jail.
- A person who sells or furnishes alcohol a second time will face a fine between $1,000 and $2,000 and up to one year in jail.
Penalties/Laws on underage alcohol use or possession:
- It is illegal for those under 21 to drink, buy, possess, transport or have open alcohol. Penalties for a minor in possession of alcohol: 1st offense = fine up to $1,000 and up to one year drivers license suspension.
- It is illegal to have a fake ID to purchase alcohol. Penalty is a general misdemeanor: up to $1,000 fine, 6 months in jail.
- Those who refuse alcohol tests when driving a motor vehicle and stopped by a law enforcement officer could lose their license and get points on their driving record.
- In Idaho, people under age 21 who are found with a blood alcohol level of .02 - .07 face charges of Underage Driving Under the Influence with a 1st offense maximum penalty of a $1,000 fine and a one year drivers license suspension.
State Administrative Penalties for licensed establishments that sell alcohol to minors:
- 1st offense within three years - 10 day license suspension or $1,000.00 fine
- 2nd offense within three year - 30 day license suspension or 15 day suspension and $1,500.00 fine
- 3rd offense within three years - 180 day license suspension
For more on the Crime Stoppers tip line for underage drinking/over-service of alcohol, please see the news release dated March 21, 2007 at www.boisepolice.org.
Dangers of Underage Drinking:
It's well documented, underage drinking can lead to tragedy. Underage drinking is a factor in the 4 leading causes of death in people ages 10 to 24: motor vehicle crashes, unintentional injuries, homicide and suicide.
Underage alcohol use can be prevented. Research shows teens are less likely to drink alcohol when access is difficult, both in the home and in the community, and parents explain that they expect "no use" before age 21 and monitor their children's activities.
Research shows underage youth are less likely to drink and drive when the zero tolerance laws and consequences are publicized and enforced.
For more information on Preventing Underage drinking, go to:
- http://camy.org/ (Center on Alcohol Marketing and Youth)